Qatar Hosts 2023 Grand Prix Leg

Sports enthusiasts are in for an action-packed weekend in Qatar. From October 6 to 8, the Formula 1 Qatar Airways Qatar Grand Prix 2023 will take place at the Lusail Circuit. This marks the first time that the Grand Prix is held in the Middle East.

ALSO READ: How to Apply for a Jamaica Tourist Visa for Filipinos in Qatar

Qatar hosts one of the legs of the F1 Race, featuring renowned international racers. The car race is scheduled to be held in different parts of the world. Starting on October 6, race cars can be seen on the streets of Doha as they prepare for the race in Lusail.

F1 drivers and team
Image Credit: Formula 1 Facebook page

Grand Prix Teams and Venue

The event in Lusail is known as the F1 Sprint. The first day is dedicated to practice and the qualifying session. The second day features a 100 km dash, leading to the main Grand Prix on Sunday, the last day of the race. The race involves 57 laps around the 5.418-kilometer Lusail International Circuit. Max Verstappen of Team Red Bull secures the title. He is also a three-time champion. 

The teams and drivers in this part of the race include:

  • Red Bull – Sergio Perez and Max Verstappen
  • Mercedes – Lewis Hamilton and George Russel
  • Ferrari – Carlos Sainz and Charles Leclerc
  • Aston Martin – Fernando Alonso and Lance Stroll
  • McLaren – Oscar Piastri and Lando Norris
  • Alpine – Pierre Gasly and Esteban Ocon
  • Williams – Alexander Albon and Logan Sargeant
  • Haas F1 Team – Nico Hulkenburg and Kevin Magnussen
  • Alfa Romeo – Vaitteri Bottas and Zhou Guanyu
  • Alpha Tauri – Liam Lawson and Yuki Tsunoda

F1 History 

Car racing has its roots tracing back to before World War II. Racers used to drive heavier cars and run laps on rough roads, accompanied by their crew who helped during pit stops.

However, the rules and traditions of Formula One were established in 1950. The governing body became known as the Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA). One year before the launch of the new Grand Prix, it was agreed upon that a World Champion would be determined at the end of each season. According to the F1 website, the rules for the Formula One World Championship are credited to Marquis Antonio Brivio-Sforza.

The word “Formula” was chosen as one of the names because it summarizes that the event is a racing division. The name Formula 1 was ultimately adopted because it best represents the event as a premier formula.

How to Become an F1 Champion?

The F1 Grand Prix follows a point system. There is a separate point system for drivers and teams, and whichever team and driver gets the most points is declared the champion at the end of the season.

Drivers who make it to the Top 10 in any given race win points for themselves and their teams. At the end of the race season, the driver and the team that earns the most points is the champion. In cases where there is a tie, the teams and drivers with the most wins throughout the season become the winner. A new rule came about in 2019 which states that the driver with the fastest lap is given additional points, but must be included in the Top 10 to finish the race. 

The next of the Grand Prix will be in the United States also in October.

READ NEXT: Mashreq Bank Personal Loan in Qatar